Pelosi labor

House Speaker Nancy Pelosi announced lots of new members of the newly christened House Education and Labor Committee this morning — and all but one are newly elected members of Congress. (I’d say new “young” members, but one of the new members is former Health and Human Services Secretary Donna Shalala — hardly a youngster —  not that there’s anything wrong with that.)

The new members are:

  • Congressman Josh Harder of California
  • Congresswoman Jahana Hayes of Connecticut
  • Congresswoman Pramila Jayapal of Washington
  • Congresswoman Susie Lee of Nevada
  • Congressman Andy Levin of Michigan
  • Congresswoman Lucy McBath of Georgia
  • Congressman Joe Morelle of New York
  • Congresswoman Ilhan Omar of Minnesota
  • Congresswoman Kim Schrier of Washington
  • Congresswoman Donna Shalala of Florida
  • Congresswoman Haley Stevens of Michigan
  • Congressman David Trone of Maryland
  • Congresswoman Lauren Underwood of Illinois
  • Congresswoman Susan Wild of Pennsylvania

All of the new members of the committee are also new members of Congress, with the exception of Congresswoman Jayapal who was first elected in 2016.

It’s not clear yet what subcommittees they will serve on or whether their interests will like more on the education side or more on the labor side. In any case, all of the new members should make for some interesting and exciting times.

But readers of Confined Space who are concerned about labor and health & safety issues, there is no time like the present to start educating them and their staff on your concerns. Unless there’s a need for everyone to stay in town (like that little shutdown you may have heard about), next week is a Congressional recess. Good time to get to know your new Representative.


One thought on “New Labor Committee Members”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: