workforce protections

The newly christened House Education and Labor Committee has announced its sub-committee assignments for the 116th Congress.

The Workforce Protections sub-committee which covers workplace safety and health issues, workers compensation and trade, international labor rights, and immigration issues as they affect employers and workers, will be chaired by Congresswoman Alma Adams (D-NC). Bradley Byrne (R-AL) will be the Ranking Member.

Joining Adams on the majority (Democratic) side of the Committee will be Mark Takano (CA-41), Mark DeSaulnier (CA-11), Pramila Jayapal (WA-07), Susan Wild (PA-07), Lucy McBath (GA-06), Ilhan Omar (MN-05) and Haley Stevens (MI-11)

Wild, McBath, Omar and Stevens are newly elected members. Jayapal was elected in 2014.

The full committee is chaired by Bobby Scott (D-VA).

Republican members are Congressman Francis Rooney (FL-19), Mark Walker (NC-06), Ben Cline (VA-06), Ron Wright (TX-06)

For workplace safety and health geeks, it’s interesting to note that all of the Democrats on the committee except for Wild and McBath are from OSHA state plan states. The only Republican members from state plan states are Walker and Cline. All of the Republican members are from the South. The sub-committee is expected to address a number of OSHA and MSHA-related issues through hearings, investigations and legislation.

Adams was first elected in 2014. She was a college administrator and art professor, and former state assemblywoman from Greensboro. Her district includes Charlotte, NC.

The Health, Education, Labor and Pensions  sub-committee, which deals with labor-management issues, including the National Labor Relations Act and the Labor-Management Relations Act, will be chaired by Frederika Wilson (D-FL) and will include  Joe Courtney (CT-02), Marcia Fudge (OH-11), Donald Norcross (NJ-01), Joe Morelle (NY-25), Susan Wild (PA-07), Josh Harder (CA-10), Lucy McBath (GA-06), Lauren Underwood (IL-14), Donna Shalala (FL-27), Andy Levin (MI-09), Haley Stevens (MI-11)
and Lori Trahan (MA-03). Wild, Harder, McBath, Underwood, Shalala, Levin, Stevens and Trahan are newly elected.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from Confined Space

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading